FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES North Carolina A&T State University Academic Classroom Building (A109) Tuesday, February 4, 2014 3:00 – 5:00 p.m.

Brian Carey Sims, President Presiding

Senate Members Present: Alfredo Aquirre, Ronnie Bailey, Sherrie Cannoy, Samuel Danagoulian, Lauren Davis, Dwedor Ford, Samuel Garren, Valerie Giddings, Tony Graham, Wendy Hamblet, Julius Harp, Gwendolyn Highsmith-Quick, Ioney James, Ibraheem Kateeb, John Kizito, Roland Leak, Stephen McCary-Henderson, Dan Miller, Elsie Moore, Hany Nakhla, Michael Roberto, Thomas Rudd, Brian Sims, Lijun Wang, Patricia Whitfield, Sheila Whitley, Kenneth Williams.

Departments Not Represented: Biology; Political Science; Sociology and Social Work; Visual and Performing Arts; Energy Environmental Systems; Chemical and Bioengineering; Electrical Engineering; Computational Science and Engineering; Animal Science; Agribusiness, Applied Economics and Agriscience Education; Management; Nursing; Graphic Design Technology; Army ROTC; Air Force ROTC.

The meeting was called to order by Dr. Brian Carey Sims, President Presiding

A Moment of Silence

Approval of Minutes

The November 26, 2013 minutes were unanimously approved.

Senate Welcome & Remarks

- Dr. Elizabeth Barber is stepping down as Vice President of Faculty Senate, in anticipation of her impending retirement.
- The Division of Academic Affairs has been searching since late October for a replacement for Dr. Wanda Lester. Candidates were brought to campus over past months.
- The Provost's Office has taken over many extra duties this year, including spearheading a movement to update the Faculty Handbook, in collaboration with the Senate Sub-Committee chaired by Dr. Tony Graham. Many innovations are planned as pertains to RPT guidelines, rewards and incentives for outstanding faculty performance.
- Faculty Workload Policies passed by the Senate are pending Board approval.
- Fall 2014 plus/minus grading policy will go into effect, as it has been approved by all parties.
- Update on Salary Equity Committee Dr. Michael Roberto, committee chair, was called to give an update. The fact that VC Linda McAbee has once again postponed giving an official response to the study prepared over 2012 and presented to the various schools through 2013 drew a general response that this non-prioritization of a critical matter of concern to Senate and faculty witnesses a lack of good faith on the part of those

Dr. Brian Sims

administrators. Senators urged that a strong message be prepared and sent from Senate to these parties. Dr. Sims read a message he already sent to VC McAbee, and promised to prepare a follow-up message in accord with the Senate concerns. It was moved and unanimously approved that the message state: "We Faculty Senators expect a substantive response to our study by the February Senate meeting." Our Business School Senators were heartily congratulated for their unflagging support of pay equity in the face of difficult responses from colleagues and leaders in that school. Senators questioned the Chancellor's position on this matter, but no one knew.

Blackboard Demonstration

The Sherrie Cannoy made a Blackboard demonstration presentation.

New Programs & Curriculum Report

The Senate passed the Committee recommendations unanimously. They are as follows:

- 1. Department of Built Environment Two (2) Proposed Minors (Construction Management and Geomatics)
- 2. Department of Computer Systems Technology One (1) Proposed Change in Credit Hours for Graduation (MS-Information Technology), Old and New Curriculum Guides
- 3. Department of Family Consumer Sciences Two (2) Course Changes; One (1) New Concentration

SGA Update

President Canisha Turner

The SGA President listed activities that her office had undertaken this past fall.

Old Business discussions were tabled until regularly scheduled meeting in February

- a. Faculty Parking Update
- b. Course Renumbering Process
- c. Faculty Four Document
- d. University Business Card/Letterhead

Adjournment

- Next Senate Meeting: February 25, 2014 at 3:00 p.m. in Academic Classroom Building (A101)

Professor Wendy C. Hamblet Secretary

Dr. Sherrie Cannoy

Dr. Sheila Whitley